Bah Humbug!

019
School’s out and I should be giddy with festive thoughts and freedom. Instead I’m…blah.

I’m not feeling the Christmas love yet.

Sigh.

The basement’s leaking and we haven’t had a rain-free day in, like, forever. Our staff just learned that bad things (very bad!) will happen when we go back to school in January–gulp!

I don’t even feel like going shopping. (This is serious!)

My problem? Last year’s Christmas was so super-duper special, nothing can match it–not even a drift wood Christmas tree or the 19 pound turkey my sailor brought home. (That’s right–he’ll be roasting an animal that’s considerably bigger than the dog.)

I’m trying to remember that the upside of not getting an exciting Christmas complete with my sailor’s return from Afghanistan is having him around, safe and sound, all year.

8 thoughts on “Bah Humbug!

  1. The rain does sound a bit dispiriting. No good saying ‘get yer wellies out and go splash’? 😦
    The tree is very distinctive though, and you have a man who can cook! I could find a lot of joy in that 🙂 🙂
    Merry Christmas to you both!

    • I am lucky my sailor cooks as I could never prepare a turkey. (I can’t bring myself to roast any animal that’s bigger than my dog.)

      I’m feeling a little perkier already, so with enough Bailey’s in my coffee and turkey and shortbread in my tummy (my sailor makes the Christmas shortbread, too), I should be back to normal soon.

      Merry Christmas and all the best in 2015 to you!

    • Thanks for the suggestions. I’m familiar with the restorative properties of wine. 🙂 I’ll plan a triple header with wine, Celine and Arthur. I’m sure it will brighten my outlook immensely. Have a wonderful Christmas and all the best to you in 2015!

Your thoughts . . .

