Did You Hear About the Creepy Woman at the Mall?

015
It’s not December yet, but it’s the most wonderful time of the year at the mall.

I recently spent some quality time at Mayfair Mall, my happy place.

I was serenaded by carols, delighted by decorations and charmed by the man in red–taking a break before heading North to put the finishing touches on a few billion toys.

The place was packed with happy shoppers.

One caught my attention. (By “caught my attention,” I mean I ended up stalking her from Hudson’s Bay into Eddie Bauer and on to Banana Republic as I examined her outfit, item by item. Luckily, I don’t look threatening or she probably would’ve called mall security.)

She was dressed in a similar style to me–jeans, knee-high boots, a leather purse and a nylon jacket suitable for a rainy afternoon.

I’m a purse person so her bag immediately jumped out at me. A simple black hobo, it had Tod’s discretely stamped on the gusset. (You read that right! She had a Tod’s bag. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one in person.)

Then she took off her jacket and slung it over her arm. (Shopping is warm business!) Her basic quilted jacket had a big old Burberry label on the inside. (Translation, it probably cost more than my mortgage and car payments combined.)

Now I was intrigued and backed off to give her some space (literally.) That’s when I noticed the logo on her boots. Yep–they were Prada. (Ca-ching!)

It gets a little weird now.

I noticed a tiny label on the back pocket of her jeans. What choice did I have? I had to learn the brand name so I followed her through the mall, squinting at her ass as I tried to make out the word on her pocket. Either I need a new prescription, or the Seven Jeans Company needs to redesign their logo to make it bigger and flashier.

This woman was wearing thousands of dollars in designer clothing and accessories–brands I’ve only seen in movies or magazine ads…and to be honest, she didn’t look any better dressed than me.

I walked a little taller after realizing I looked just as good as the woman in the aspirational labels. Not only that, but I probably don’t inspire creepy fellow shoppers to follow me through the mall examining my labels.

It’s an unsung benefit of frugality!

9 thoughts on “Did You Hear About the Creepy Woman at the Mall?

  1. “I walked a little taller after realizing I looked just as good as the woman in the aspirational labels. Not only that, but I probably don’t inspire creepy fellow shoppers to follow me through the mall examining my labels.

    It’s an unsung benefit of frugality!”

    CANNOT stop laughing. Just brilliant!!!

  2. I just left a comment on Karen’s blog (on 6WS) that I was browsing through a jewellery catalogue that I received in the post and did a double take at a necklace. Murano glass for £280! It seems obscene to me when there are people who can’t afford to eat. Yes, I like sparkly things, like any woman, but I own very little. And my life’s no less rich for it 🙂

  3. Haha! And what brand was her underwear? I mean come on, you’d assessed everything else, surely you found a way to check that too? You can tell us, we’re all friends here 🙂

    You know, her clothes were probably all last-season, bought from a factory outlet mall (that’s where any of my good brand clothes come from anyway!).

    • No underwear information to report! (If I’d gone that far, she probably would’ve called mall security and I’d be typing this from a tiny cell with people who might be trying to inspect MY underwear!)

      I never thought of the outlet malls. That could explain her head to toe desinger gear.

Your thoughts . . .

