Directions Matter

Mmm--creme brulee!  My boy and I were home alone for dinner and I found the perfect pudding--two  glass ramekins of lovely, creamy creme brulee.  What could be better to wrap up a dinner at home with my boy!  I was so excited by my find I didn't even read the package.  I just added it to my cart, mentally counting the hours until we could dig in.

Mmm–creme brulee! My boy and I were home alone for dinner and I found the perfect pudding–two glass ramekins of lovely, creamy creme brulee. What could be better to wrap up a dinner at home with my boy! I was so excited by my find I didn’t even read the package. I just added it to my cart, mentally counting the hours until we could dig in.

The moral of the story is:  directions matter!  Our pre-made creme brulee came sans brulee.  Instead of a delicous crunchy caramel topping we got a foil pouch of grainy brown sugar and instructions to melt it with our torch.  (Seriously--our torch!)  Since I can't be trusted with a source of fire, creative thinking was required to put the brulee in our creme.

The moral of the story is: directions matter! Our pre-made creme brulee came sans brulee. Instead of a delicous crunchy caramel topping we got a foil pouch of grainy brown sugar and instructions to melt it with our torch. (Seriously–our torch!) Since I can’t be trusted with a source of fire, creative thinking was required to put the brulee in our creme.

Surprise surprise--a mere match is no match for the sugar topping on creme brulee.  Instead of classic creme brulee, we ended up with custard and crunchy  sugar with a unique sulpher after taste--but we ate it anyway!

Surprise surprise–a mere match is no match for the sugar topping on creme brulee. Instead of classic creme brulee, we ended up with custard and crunchy sugar with a unique sulpher after taste–but we ate it anyway!

8 thoughts on “Directions Matter

  1. I think I prefer the custard and crunchy sugar with a unique sulphur after taste; but what bastardry in the packaging, I can forgive you for having too much sugar after that! (And, if I’m not mistaken, it almost warrants the purchase of a new handbag (just to teach the creme brulee manufacturers a jolly good lesson!))

Your thoughts . . .

