And the Winner is…

002003
And the winner is…

Salt Water Taffy.

The boat came back from the shop winterized and with its (her?) brand spanking new name on the transom.

We had one sunny day to enjoy the new name and art work–a Welsh corgi and cute little dragon–before my sailor wrapped the boat in the biggest tarp in the world for the winter. (Apparently boats are like bears. They hibernate.)

I’m still not sure if we need to do a proper christening ceremony in the spring.

Although I like the idea of pomp and circumstance, (I would definitely wear a hat to the ceremony!) I worry about wasting a perfectly good bottle of champagne.

13 thoughts on “And the Winner is…

  1. Boi you do learn things everyday. Appearently I dont know much about boiats and christening, as I was wondering out aloud why you waste a perfectly good bottle of champagne when my friend beside me said to me, that you had to break the Champagne on the boat to christening it. Well I say go right ahead, it would be just the same as buying a pretty dress or a handsome suit for the baby to christening.. Have fun sailing before she hibernates, which I could join you. I only ever been on a yacht once. 🙂

    Oh by the way, I like your blog. Its pretty and cute. You can check out mine, it might not be that cute and pretty as yours but its worth a read.

    God Bless ((Hugs))… Happy Sailing, take pics

    • You have about as much sailing experience as me. Most of my time of the water has been on BC Ferries travelling back and forth from Vancouver Island to the mainland–not quite a yacht! We’re still undecided about breaking open a bottle of champagne–maybe we’ll just splash Saltwater Taffy with a few drops and drink the rest. 🙂

  2. Hooray! At last! And what a great name! But some pics of a christening ceremony would be rather nice, I think. How about using some of your sailor’s bacon beverage and keeping the champagne for yourselves?

    • Thank you! We thought long and hard about the name. I’ll post christening pictures if/when we do it. Although I like the idea of saving the champagne for drinking, I’m not sure about the bacon beverage as a substitute. (Thick bacon-flavoured smears down the front of Saltwater Taffy might attract sharks–oh no!)

  3. I would never have guessed the name in a million years. Re the champagne. Drink it! (And get another bottle in the Spring!) Now that’s a boat bigger than I thought. And it’s a great name – but what’s the story behind it? 🙂

    • Thank you! Taffy is an homage to my Welsh heritage and saltwater fits because we plan to sail the local seas. Put them both together and presto…we have a winner! It’s 23 feet–big enough to do overnight or weekend trips, but small enough to be towed.

Your thoughts . . .

