Dubonnet

022
I had a hankering for sherry yesterday evening.

Since the government liquor store was closed when I dropped my boy off at Tae Kwon Do, I had to go to one of the late night liquor stores.

After wandering the aisles long enough to make the lone clerk a bit nervous, I asked him to point me to the sherry.

“Can’t help you. We don’t get much call for sherry, except for the really cheap stuff and that’s a niche market we try to avoid.”

He handed me a slim bottle of Dubonnet instead.

“This is fortified wine,” he said squinting at the label. “It’s probably similar to sherry.”

I’d never heard of it, but since it’s made in France I figured, why not?

After my first glass, I hit the internet to learn more about my new favourite drink.

Dubonnet was popular with the jet set crowd in the 60’s and 70’s. The only people who drink it now are either really old or the Queen (who is, I realize, really old.)

Her Majesty, like her mother before her, is partial to a Gin Dubonnet cocktail before lunch each day.

Since I have delusions of being a princess, I had to try one for myself.

I discovered that Dubonnet, like many things that’s good on its own, is even better with a slug of gin poured in.

Just call me Princess!

6 thoughts on “Dubonnet

    • We can only buy alcohol in liquor stores. (It’s not sold in grocery stores, drug stores or convenience stores.) Government-run liquor stores tend to have the best selection and the lowest prices, but they’re not open late. Private liquor stores, which are open later, may not have specialty items like sherry. (But that’s okay, because I wouldn’t have discovered the joy of Dubonnet if I’d been able to get cream sherry!)

Your thoughts . . .

