Happy Anniversary, Baby!

Ooh--Pirate Pak Day at White Spot!  I tried to convince my Sailor we should celebrate our anniversary in style with a couple of Pirate Paks.  Just like I wasn't able to talk him into a Vegas wedding officiated by an Elvis impersonator, I couldn't sell him on White Spot to mark our anniversay.  Luckily, he had a good idea of his own...

Ooh–Pirate Pak Day at White Spot! I tried to convince my Sailor we should celebrate our anniversary in style with a couple of Pirate Paks. Just like I wasn’t able to talk him into a Vegas wedding officiated by an Elvis impersonator, I couldn’t sell him on White Spot to mark our anniversay. Luckily, he had a good idea of his own…

The Bengal Lounge at the Fairmont Empress!  You just know you're in for a wonderful evening when you pass beneath that big brass circle.

The Bengal Lounge at the Fairmont Empress! You just know you’re in for a wonderful evening when you pass beneath that big brass circle.

Meow!  Although I would never wear fur or encourage anyone to kill an endangered animal like a tiger, I have to admit this one makes quite a statement hanging over the grand fireplace.  He looks like he's been there forever so hopefully he died of old age.

Meow! Although I would never wear fur or encourage anyone to kill an endangered animal like a tiger, I have to admit this one makes quite a statement hanging over the grand fireplace. He looks like he’s been there forever so hopefully he died of old age.

Mmm--the curry buffet!  Butter chicken and a whole bunch of other yummy things I can't spell.

Mmm–the curry buffet! Butter chicken and a whole bunch of other yummy things I can’t spell.

Planning my eating strategy after our main course, I told my Sailor I wasn't going to have rice pudding.  "You're going to eat healthy tonight?" he asked. "Oh, no.  I want to focus on the creme brulee." In the end, the lure of the rice pudding was too much and I went for one of everything.

Planning my eating strategy after our main course, I told my Sailor I wasn’t going to have rice pudding.
“You’re going to eat healthy tonight?” he asked.
“Oh, no. I want to focus on the creme brulee.”
In the end, the lure of the rice pudding was too much and I went for one of everything.

OMGI  Yet another dessert!  This delicate slab of cheesecake was provided on the house by the kind folks at the Bengal Lounge.  Although I'd just polished off three desserts, I rose to the occasion.  Mmm!  It was worth the challenge!

OMGI Yet another dessert! This delicate slab of cheesecake was provided on the house by the kind folks at the Bengal Lounge. Although I’d just polished off three desserts, I rose to the occasion. Mmm! It was worth the challenge!

When we left the lounge we saw the parliament buildings all lit up.  How nice!  Even the provincial government wanted us to have a happy anniversary!

When we left the lounge we saw the parliament buildings all lit up. How nice! Even the provincial government wanted us to have a happy anniversary!

8 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary, Baby!

    • I’m afraid the future is now! I’m an all or nothing girl with sweets–once I start, I can’t stop. I’ve resolved to swing the pendulum back to the nothing side. So far so good! I’ve been up for 45 minutes and haven’t eaten anything made of chocolate yet! The big challenge will be facing the temptations downtown: Murchie’s pastry counter, Bon Macarons’ delicious morsels, Pagliacci’s chocolate truffle cake…

Your thoughts . . .

