The Pioneer Woman

003004
I’m watching too much TV these days.

Because I cut our cable package in a misguided effort to be frugal, I mostly surf between Home and Garden TV and the Food Network.

I discovered Ree Drummond AKA The Pioneer Woman, a larger than life blogger turned cookbook author turned Food Network star. I’m fascinated by her story. She’s an “accidental country girl” who gave up a mysterious career in the big city for the Marlborough Man, her rancher husband.

She started blogging years ago and quickly became an internet hit. From her blog, other opportunities followed and now she’s a famous TV star. Easy peasy, right?

However, all is not rosy out on the range. People either love her (millions of adoring fans have got her where she is) or hate her. A quick internet search reveals several anti-Pioneer Woman blogs that are surprisingly amusing, if nasty.

I’m not sure where I fall on the Pioneer Woman love scale. I wouldn’t eat her cooking (melted bacon fat used as salad dressing and prime rib poached in butter, anyone?) But I admire her blogging talent and marketing skills.

I also like her folksy style and her happy, apple-cheeked children, but picking up any recipes or cooking tips from her? No siree! The Pioneer Woman may have her own cooking show, but she can’t teach me anything with that alarming penchant for butter and animal fat.

Until she baked cookies for the gang baling hay out on the range. She used a mini ice-cream scoop to make perfect round cookies!

I struggle to form my cookies with two tablespoons and end up with misshapen lumps that look like something the Chihuahua coughed up. Today, I dug out my mini ice-cream scoop and shaved minutes off the baking experience. Best of all–my cookies cooked evenly (no more burned bits hanging off the edges).

Thank you, Pioneer Woman! Maybe your critics are wrong and you do deserve your own cooking show after all.

6 thoughts on “The Pioneer Woman

  1. We find all sorts of bits and pieces of good stuff from overall crap! Politics, Religion etc all have bits of good stuff we can use. I love your writing, keep it up! Maureen M.

    • Good point! When presented with something that’s mainly rubbish, it’s often hard to remember not to throw the baby out with the bath water (which would actually be a really mean thing to do!) Thanks for the visit and the kind comment! 🙂

    • I mentally kicked myself for not thinking of the scoop for cookie dough before she gave me the idea.

      I can’t imagine ever using bacon grease for salad dressing or cooking pasta in chicken fat (yes, she did that, too!) but I have to give the Pioneer Woman credit for the ice-cream scoop suggestion.

Your thoughts . . .

