Happy Canada Day!

Hanging up the ratty strike signs.   Sadly nothing's been resolved yet.  We may need them again in September, or we might be called upon to picket over the summer.  (The situation remains "fluid.")  Although it's been a tough go, I got to know many of my colleagues a little better on the line.  I'm impressed by their dedication to their students and their willingness to make sacrifices in order ito stand up for public education.

Hanging up the ratty strike signs. Sadly nothing’s been resolved yet. We may need them again in September, or we might be called upon to picket over the summer. (The situation remains “fluid.”) Although it’s been a tough go, I got to know many of my colleagues a little better on the line. I’m impressed by their dedication to their students and their willingness to make sacrifices n order ito stand up for public education.

Time to savour my morning latte now that we've (hopefully) finished picket duty.  They say we eat with our eyes first and my eyes were happy with all the pretty layers of coffee and milk.  Who knew a Tassimo machine could create such beauty?

Time to savour my morning latte now that we’ve (hopefully) finished picket duty. They say we eat with our eyes first and my eyes were happy with all the pretty layers of coffee and milk. Who knew a Tassimo machine could create such beauty?

Mmmm--fresh blueberries on my morning gruel!  Look how plump and juicy they are!  Enough said.

Mmmm–fresh blueberries on my morning gruel! Look how plump and juicy they are! Enough said.

Summer sales!  I loved this dress when I saw it at its regular price back at the beginning of the spring.  I bought it when it was slightly reduced a couple of weeks later.  Then I returned it because, well, I have a closet full of pretty dresses.  This weekend, it was further reduced AND an extra 40% off the sale price!  I got a snazzy summery dress for under $20!  Woo hoo--even a striker like me can afford that!

Summer sales! I loved this dress when I saw it at its regular price back at the beginning of the spring. I bought it when it was slightly reduced a couple of weeks later. Then I returned it because, well, I have a closet full of pretty dresses. This weekend, it was further reduced AND an extra 40% off the sale price! I got a snazzy summery dress for under $20! Woo hoo–even a striker like me can afford that!

Time to write!  No school and (hopefully no picket duty) means more time to write.  This book with its 642 crazy, creative prompts should provide inspiration.

Time to write! No school and (hopefully no picket duty) means more time to write. This book with its 642 crazy, creative prompts should provide inspiration.

Summer barbeques--loved by all members of the The Sailor's Woman family.   It's much nicer to barbeque when you're not shivering under a golf umprella (or so I've been told!)

Summer barbeques–loved by all members of the The Sailor’s Woman family. It’s much nicer to barbeque when you’re not shivering under a golf umprella (or so I’ve been told!)

7 thoughts on “Happy Canada Day!

  1. Ugh! I just noticed several typos in the photo captions–oops! Stupid gallery posts! It’s almost impossible to go back and make corrections without deleting the entire post and starting for scratch (at least for someone with my limited computer skills.) Please excuse the Canada Day sloppiness.

Your thoughts . . .

