Locked Out!

071
Today was a big day on the line.

We got to turn our ratty signs over to indicate we’re now officially locked out by the employer, not on strike.

To the kids who are out of school, it’s likely a subtle difference, but it had a huge impact on recent events, particularly the teachers’ 86% vote to escalate job action to a full-scale strike. This afternoon, one teacher on the line summed it up: the three-day lock out at the end of June combined with the 10% pay cut for the rest of the month, made the strike a no brainer.

I hesitate to say the government provoked the teachers’ strike, but if I was cynical I’d admit it kind of looks that way.

As of this morning, the situation is “fluid.”

We’re expected to picket all summer. Summer school has been cancelled so there will be no picket lines. The Minister of Education is seeking a ruling from the Labour Relations Board to designate summer school an essential service. (No word on who he’ll get to teach summer school if the LRB rules in his favour. Given the current state of the relationship, I can’t see many teachers applying for those jobs. Surely we haven’t reached the point where teachers can be forced to work.)

So, work remains a mess.

On the personal front, I’m a year into The Sailor’s Woman (yay, me!)

Lately I’ve missed the occasional post. I’ve had to admit to myself that my life just isn’t interesting enough to generate three posts/week 😦

I’ve reached two decisions:

I may switch to once or twice per week.

I’ll stop beating myself up for missing a post.

6 thoughts on “Locked Out!

  1. Do whatever it is you need to to keep blogging fun. Otherwise it becomes a chore and you just drift into the woodwork, only to be seen again in comments.

    Hope they resolve the differences between teachers and management soon, for your (and the kids) sakes.

  2. Sorry to hear about work. I don’t have that problem (work!) but I can relate to the blog worries, and currently working towards weekly (unless something special comes up). Flexibility is my maxim!

  3. Blogs can turn us into jittery I-have-to I-have-to I have-to fools. I know I am blog fodder. So stop beating yourself and liberate!

Your thoughts . . .

