Ahoy There, Mateys!

002
My sailor has finally found a boat he loves and (more importantly) can afford.

It’s been a process because our wish list is so long: a real toilet, bunks and a small kitchen so we can do weekend trips. It has to be small enough to be trailer-able so we don’t have to keep it at a marina. Choices have been limited because of the budget or lack there of.

He put a deposit contingent on the wife liking the boat and showed me a dozen pictures, including a few really cute ones with him posing in the cock pit, a look of stern concentration on his face as he pretends to drive or sail (cruise?)

We made arrangements to see it Friday evening after work.

Mid-week my sailor got an email from the sellers. They invited us to stay for dinner after viewing the boat.

I’m a bit of an introvert and rarely take the initiative when it comes to socializing. Because of that my first thought was . . . why. Why would they want a family of strangers to have dinner at their house?

Friday night I had my answer: they’re charming people who enjoy the company of others. In addition to being friendly, they’re interesting.

He’s a retired helicopter pilot who served with the American Army in Vietnam. Now he travels the world giving lectures on aeronautic safety. Oh, and he writes books in his spare time. Actual books that other people read. One has been optioned for a movie. He gave a copy to my boy, and even inscribed it to him.

She’s a nurse, who makes museum-quality porcelain dolls. (I didn’t know it was possible to sculpt detailed objects like that by hand.) She also quilts and makes colourful jewellery. She gave me a pair of her handmade earrings.

Most remarkably, they managed to bring one shy, marginally grumpy woman out of her shell. I had a lovely evening and I’m so glad we went.

Hopefully some of their charm and glamour will remain on the boat and rub off on me.

10 thoughts on “Ahoy There, Mateys!

  1. This has taken me out of the foul mood I was in. I was all negative until I read this. No I think, yeah, go for it! Be positive. You only live once (even if life sucks!) Thanks for this. Great positive posting. I’m all muddled inside, but this was really great.

Your thoughts . . .

