Maybe Once a Year is Enough…

From my sailor. The inside says something about my superior multi-tasking skills. I didn't have the heart to tell him I can't muli-task.  This is not false modesty.  I took an online test and the results were conclusive.  I'm a simple uni-tasker.

From my sailor.
The inside says something about my superior multi-tasking skills.
I didn’t have the heart to tell him I can’t muli-task. This is not false modesty. I took an online test and the results were conclusive. I’m a simple uni-tasker.

From my son... For the record, although I don't claim to be a perfect, cheerful mom, I have never, ever used the phrase, "I don't give a rat's ass..." Thanks, honey!  I love you, too!

From my son…
For the record, although I don’t claim to be a perfect, cheerful mom, I have never, ever used the phrase, “I don’t give a rat’s ass…”
Thanks, honey! I love you, too!

Yippee!  We went out for a nice breakfast on Mother's Day.  The restaurant was full because, well, it was Mother's Day and everyone and his dog takes their mom/wife out on Mother's Day.   That's okay!  We ended up on the pretty, flower festooned patio.  (Even better than sitting inside!)  Although it was sunny, the morning was brisk.  Good thing I went with a pair of jeans and a heavy sweater instead of the pretty dress I almost pulled on.

Yippee! We went out for a nice breakfast on Mother’s Day. The restaurant was full because, well, it was Mother’s Day and everyone and his dog takes their mom/wife out on Mother’s Day.
That’s okay! We ended up on the pretty, flower festooned patio. (Even better than sitting inside!) Although it was sunny, the morning was brisk. Good thing I went with a pair of jeans and a heavy sweater instead of the pretty dress I almost pulled on.

"Hey, you're not driving any where today," said my sailor.  "Why don't you have a glass of wine!" Although I appreciate his thoughtfulness, I'm not in the habit of drinking at breakfast time.   Isn't drinking at breakfast the beginning of the not so long descent  towards big, BIG issues?  Isn't it frowned upon?  Well, that's what I  thought until I read the menu.  Breakfast cocktails!  Who'd have thunk it? (For the record, I had plain coffee.  The risk of social problems aside, the idea of booze with my eggs is somewhat unappealing.)

“Hey, you’re not driving any where today,” said my sailor. “Why don’t you have a glass of wine!”
Although I appreciate his thoughtfulness, I’m not in the habit of drinking at breakfast time.
Isn’t drinking at breakfast the beginning of the not so long descent towards big, BIG issues? Isn’t it frowned upon? Well, that’s what I thought until I read the menu. Breakfast cocktails! Who’d have thunk it?
(For the record, I had plain coffee. The risk of social problems aside, the idea of booze with my eggs is somewhat unappealing.)

My sailor was in the washroom when the bill arrived. "This is for Dad," said the waitress putting it at his place.   "And this is for Mom!"  She placed this little beauty in front of me. It wasn't until he'd paid and we were walking to the car that my sailor finally noticed it.  "Hey!  Did you pilfer that plant?"  (To set another record straight--I have never stolen anything.) Sigh--I'm kind of glad Mother's Day is only  a once a year.

My sailor was in the washroom when the bill arrived.
“This is for Dad,” said the waitress putting it at his place. “And this is for Mom!” She placed this little beauty in front of me.
It wasn’t until he’d paid and we were walking to the car that my sailor finally noticed it. “Hey! Did you pilfer that plant?” (To set another record straight–I have never stolen anything.)
Sigh–I’m kind of glad Mother’s Day is only a once a year.

2 thoughts on “Maybe Once a Year is Enough…

  1. I most lovely capture of the day! Loved it! (Although, next time order the drinks for breakfast and get a doggie bag!)

Your thoughts . . .

