Book Vs Movie

001A while ago I blogged about discovering Game of Thrones.

I was initially hooked by the exciting storylines. Add compelling characters, fabulous costumes and amazing scenery and I was powerless to resist.

Terri Lively, a fellow blogger, mentioned the graphic violence in later seasons. At that point I’d only seen season one and although I thought it was fairly violent, it wasn’t any worse than most of what’s on TV these days.

I think I’ve reached the scenes to which she referred. Horrific is the only word to describe them. I close my eyes and plug my ears while they’re on screen. (Really? This is how I spend my precious leisure time–trying not to watch the show playing on my TV??? It’s crazy!)

Weirdly, this particular horrible storyline doesn’t drive the plot. A quick online search indicates these scenes aren’t even in the book. For some reason, they were added to the screen adaptation. And I can’t figure out why.

I’m caught up in the stories, but I just can’t watch anymore so I’m going to give the book a try.

I love reading. The book is always better than the movie. Apparently there’s not as much graphic violence in the novel.

Sounds like win, win, win.

13 thoughts on “Book Vs Movie

  1. I like seeing movies and reading the books they’re based on.
    In some cases, the movie is faithful to the book. In others, they have nothing to do with each other.
    The ones I like best are where they aren’t the same, but the movie does the same themes and overall story as the book.

    • I agree with you.

      It’s very disappointing to see a movie based on a book and find it’s totally different. Likewise, it doesn’t always work to include every detail from the book in the movie. As long as the theme and overall story are preserved I consider it a successful adaptation.

  2. I think I know the scenes that you are talking about, and although they aren’t shown in real time in the books, they happen in the story (just not shown, but they’re known.)

    Due to how the second book was adapted, and how the second season had to skip over some establishing elements, “off-screen” things in the books were presented, not just for shock value but to make up ground on establishing a particular character’s attributes.

    I’d argue that the scenes will drive the plot, and took the place of parts in the books that are missing from the adaptation.

    That being said, I’m glad you want to read the books. They’re great.

    • I’ll have to take your word for it that these scenes will eventually drive the plot. I do wonder, though, why they couldn’t have been dealt with “off screen” in the series the way they are in the books. It would have been easy to show the character beaten and bloody without actually filming how he got that way.

      It’s such a fascinating story with really interesting characters so I hope I like the books.

  3. I’m addicted to games, but being older, I didn’t realize there was more to life than Solitaire! (Just kidding – but never done the Thrones thing).

Your thoughts . . .

