Labour Unrest (Warning: Political Rant to Follow!)

001We’re on strike!

Well not a strike, exactly. I don’t think we’re allowed to do that. It’s a legally sanctioned stage one job action. And it’s very complicated.

We’re not attending any meetings with principals…unless it’s related to student safety, behaviour, custody issues, legal matters, or if the principal is directly involved in providing educational programming to said student.

We’re not doing supervision of students…unless the school is unable to manage providing adequate supervision using only non-BCTF staff.

I think that’s about it.

(We teachers are a tough bunch! Piss us off and we’ll…refuse to read your emails!)

Oh yes, I forgot to mention, we’re not accepting any electronic communications, aka emails, from principals. (That’ll hit ’em where it hurts!)

What are we doing it for? Well a little more money would be nice. (BC teachers are among the lowest paid in the country.) We’re also hoping to restore class size and composition to our collective agreement. These issues were illegally stripped from our contract about ten years ago.

Since then the union and the government have been involved in numerous court battles. The union has won three times, but every time a judge sides in our favour, the government changes a law or two and appeals the ruling.

I don’t know how much they’ve spent on lawyers, but I wish someone would tell them to direct that money into the school system.

8 thoughts on “Labour Unrest (Warning: Political Rant to Follow!)

  1. I’m not really interested in politics, but then I am very interested in politics, but not political parties. We have some elections in the UK in the next three weeks, in which a non-establishment party is doing very well at the polls principally, I suspect, because it is not one of the three established parties and regardless of any of its policies.

  2. Oh dear it seems governments the world over are mucking about with educators and potentially damaging our most precious future resource. You may have seen that I (BBC1) became so angry recently I began a little project of my own regarding early years here in England. All I can say is that I wish you all the best, yours in solidarity!

    • Yes, I’ve read about your project. Good for you! Change begins with individuals becoming involved.

      We are living in interesting times in education here in British Columbia. I think our system could do with a bit of an overhaul. It’s difficult to see services to children cut while there is wasteful spending in other areas, but I’m neither a mover nor a shaker (more of a whiner and a complainer.)

Your thoughts . . .

