The Lady of Wolfthorn Hall

013I’m late to the party, but I’ve finally arrived!

The Game of Thrones party, that is.

Sure, I’d heard the buzz around this throney drama, but I was too busy catching up on Breaking Bad, Rome and The Walking Dead to start another show. This week, my sailor convinced me to give Thrones a try.

Let me tell you, after binge watching season one, I get why it’s so popular and all the cool kids are fans.

The allure of Game of Thrones goes deeper than its compelling plot. Game of Thrones is the first show I’ve ever watched where my life imitated art. (A good thing considering my other favourites feature insatiable zombies and violent meth cooks.)

No, I didn’t start receiving messages via raven instead of email. I ran out of deodorant on Sunday.

I had to use my sailor’s Old Spice. I expected I’d smell like a pirate until I read the scent name: Wolfthorn–ooh!

Forget pirates. Wolfthorn could be a Game of Thrones location. (It’s left of Winterfell and south of Kings Landing.) There’s even a crest on the label–two animals (wolves?) cuddled up, paws entwined. If I was a princess, I’d want a crest like that, except with Chihuahuas instead of wolves.

I looked forward to smelling slightly earthy with a hint of wood smoke and notes of leather and hay. How exciting! I would smell like a knight!

Surprisingly, Wolfthorn is crisp and lemony. It’s almost as fresh and pretty as my usual green tea and cucumber deodorant.

Who knew all those rugged knights smelled like girls?

4 thoughts on “The Lady of Wolfthorn Hall

  1. I have a love/hate relationship with the show. I think it’s way too violent, and by that I mean graphically. There are things on the show that I wish I had never seen because they are still in my mind. Also, some of the sex scenes are just too explicit as well. I know I sound like an old lady (and I realize that I kind of am becoming more of one everyday), but I just don’t think it’s necessary to the story. The same ideas could be conveyed without all the extra sex and violence thrown in! But the story is very interesting. Season 1 isn’t so bad, but you’ll see what I mean as it goes on…

    • Sign me up for old lady status, too! I agree with you regarding the graphic sex and violence. I closed my eyes during several scenes because of horrific violence, and the explicit nudity/sex scenes aren’t necessary for plot development. (Some of them were actually quite distracting!) Downton Abbey is the only contemporary drama that comes to mind that isn’t loaded with R-rated scenes. I don’t think they make shows these days that aren’t overly explicit, so I just cringe and shut my eyes during the graphic scenes.

Your thoughts . . .

