Highlights of Easter Weekend 2014

008002
4. The pitter patter of little…paws! Our nephews in Ontario adopted a dog this weekend. We haven't met her yet, but she looks awfully cute on Facebook. She, along with our adorable puppy-in-law in Alberta, brings the total of family pooches we have yet to meet up to two. Although I get car sick, I'm thinking a road trip this summer would be a great opportunity to meet these two cuties.

3. Cherry blossoms and ocean views. Every year we go to the Wardroom for Easter brunch. Even though the weather was drizzly and blah, the views from our table were spectacular. (In addition to the dashing uniforms the Navy's ocean front venues are a bonus that other branches of the military just can't match.) The eraser pink cherry blossoms in the parking lot were pretty special, too.

2. Nothing says Easter weekend like martial arts! Okay, it's not quite Easter news, but my boy had a Tae Kwon Do test on Thursday night. I'm not allowed to stay and watch because my (surprisingly loud) gasps distract him while he's sparring. So while, I can't speak about his technique, I can share that he passed to the next belt level and I couldn't be more proud.

1. I resisted the urge to eat any of my boy's Easter chocolates in the weeks leading up the big day! Because the Easter Bunny is a very busy rodent at this time of year, he foolishly delivered my boy's chocolates before Easter. I found a boy-proof hiding spot and avoided scarfing any of them down myself. In case, you're not suitably impressed by this feat of willpower and good motherhood, know that the Easter Bunny provided delicious Rogers' Chocolates this year. That's right–I had a selection of Rogers' Chocolate eggs and bunnies in my kitchen for over a week and didn't touch them. Sometimes I impress myself.

2 thoughts on “Highlights of Easter Weekend 2014

Your thoughts . . .

