Me Day!

035038049051With our busy schedules, we didn’t have a chance to celebrate my recent birthday until Monday, the first day of our Spring Break holiday.

What’s better than a Monday that begins without a screaming alarm clock? A Monday when your nearest and dearest make you their number one priority. (I called it “Me Day.”)

The day was off to a roaring good start when I poured my first cup of coffee and remembered three special facts: I wasn’t going to be driving anywhere, it was St. Patrick’s Day and my Welsh mother had an Irish grandmother. Guess what that means? That’s right–Bailey’s in my coffee! It’s the best part of waking up!

I was surprisingly excited about Me Day. To fully celebrate me, I attempted to get my boys to run through the alphabet, listing a positive quality about me for each letter. Sadly, my sailor and my boy weren’t quite as enthusiastic as me. This exercise was abandoned when they generated words like annoying and bothersome.

After a relaxing walk downtown, we had lunch at the Legislative Dining Room. With its white table linens and bow tie wearing wait staff, The Leg is a blast from the the 1950’s. The menu is standard lunch fare–soups, salads and sandwiches. I had the wild salmon salad followed by the turtle torte (named for the delicious caramel pecan chocolates, not the quiet little reptiles.)

After lunch it was present time–woo hoo! My sailor gave me a silver Pyrrha talisman pendant. Not only is it lovely and meaningful, but it was made it Vancouver. I love buying local products.

Now if I can only figure out a way to celebrate Me Day again next month.

6 thoughts on “Me Day!

Your thoughts . . .

