Things That Made Me Smile This Week :)

Last Sunday’s time change cost us a precious weekend hour. Since weekends are short enough, I had to look long and hard for things that made me smile. Here’s my collection of the best of the week.

A solar powered Mountie!  If you can find a sunny spot for him, he will wave manfully, providing hours of enjoyment to you and your family!  Since we haven't had any sunshine since July, I passed up on Solar Powered Mountie.  Instead we'll rely on the regular, doughnut powered variety of Mountie to provide cheerful waves as they go about the business of serving and protecting us.

A solar powered Mountie! If you can find a sunny spot for him, he will wave manfully, providing hours of enjoyment to you and your family! Since we haven’t had any sunshine since July, I passed up on Solar Powered Mountie. Instead we’ll rely on the regular, doughnut powered variety of Mountie to provide cheerful waves as they go about the business of serving and protecting us.

Not quite a clear blue sky, but close.  I managed to snap this shot in a brief interlude between  periods of rain and more rain.

Not quite a clear blue sky, but close. I managed to snap this shot in a brief interlude between periods of rain and more rain.

Mmm--huevos rancheros!  Do I really need to say anything else?  Not only do they come with the three best condiments on the planet-- guacamole, sour cream and salsa--but I didn't have to cook them!  It doesn't get much better than this.

Mmm–huevos rancheros! Do I really need to say anything else? Not only do they come with the three best condiments on the planet– guacamole, sour cream and salsa–but I didn’t have to cook them! It doesn’t get much better than this.

New art supplies!  I used to disregard my complete lack of artistic ability and paint stacks of watercolours.  It was so much fun, I'm not sure why I stopped.   I'm going to give it another try with these super cool watercolour pencils-- less messy than the real thing, but (hopefully) just as enjoyable.

New art supplies! I used to disregard my complete lack of artistic ability and paint stacks of watercolours. It was so much fun, I’m not sure why I stopped. I’m going to give it another try with these super cool watercolour pencils– less messy than the real thing, but (hopefully) just as enjoyable.

Birthday presents!  No, it's not for me.  It's for my fiend's little girl who'll be turning nine soon.  I'm giving her three of my favourite childhood novels:  Little House in the Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder, Little Women by Louisa May Alcott and The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett.  I had such fun choosing them and I can't wait to hear if she enjoys them as much as I did.

Birthday presents! No, it’s not for me. It’s for my fiend’s little girl who’ll be turning nine soon. I’m giving her three of my favourite childhood novels: Little House in the Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder, Little Women by Louisa May Alcott and The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. I had such fun choosing them and I can’t wait to hear if she enjoys them as much as I did.

Spring Break is fast approaching.  Woo hoo--a whole week off to lounge around in my PJ's and aimlessly surf the net!  (Clearly, I plan to use my time productively!)  Note:  I didn't choose the half-naked firefighter calendar.  A friend buys me one every Christmas.  I feel it would be wasteful and bad for the environment not to use it.  Yep--that's my story.

Spring Break is fast approaching. Woo hoo–a whole week off to lounge around in my PJ’s and aimlessly surf the net! (Clearly, I plan to use my time productively!) Note: I didn’t choose the half-naked firefighter calendar. A friend buys me one every Christmas. I feel it would be wasteful and bad for the environment not to use it. Yep–that’s my story.

4 thoughts on “Things That Made Me Smile This Week :)

Your thoughts . . .

