Women’s History Month and Procrastination

018
Oh my gosh!

I have to write something about women’s evolving role in the Canadian military before Wednesday. It has to be interesting and it must be accompanied by two relevant photos.

It’s because March is Women’s History Month. Unhinged and Empowered Navy Wives and Girlfriends, the blog on which I guest post, is focussing on women’s history in honour of our special month.

I’m a woman. I like history. I should feel affirmed and respected because my gender gets its very own month to celebrate our history and achievements. Instead I’m stressing, sweating and procrastinating.

I don’t know what to write! The clock is ticking and instead of finding inspiration, I’m back in Mr. Hanon’s grade twelve history class on that terrible day I drew a complete blank about the British North America Act, the topic of our surprise quiz, and even worse, I was too shy to talk to Malcolm, the dreamy boy who sat behind me.

The Internet, my source of information and too much international shopping, has provided reams of facts. Did you know Canadian Army Medical Corps Sisters in the First World War were nicknamed “Bluebirds” because of their colourful uniforms? Neither did I. How about the fact that Canadian Army nurses during WWII were the first in any Allied military to be given officer status? Woo hoo–go Canada! I just can’t figure out how to put this trivia into some kind of cohesive post that doesn’t read like a dry history paper.

So what am I doing? Researching and writing an interesting and entertaining post about all the dedicated and courageous women who have served our country through the years? (Shakes head shamefully) I’m engaging in a detailed Facebook discussion about which TV show to start after binge watching the final seasons of Breaking Bad. I’ve heard Dexter is good, but someone else recommends House of Cards and another, Utopia.

6 thoughts on “Women’s History Month and Procrastination

  1. Just finished watching the whole run of Dexter. Ending was a little weak.
    Burn Notice was fun

    Bet it will be a very readable article, with a lot of details highlighting the success of women in your military.

  2. Dear Sailor’s Woman
    Just write the wonderful stuff you normally write. No need for angst!
    But what month is Men’s History Month? I know we have to rectify an imbalance – but, um… now I’m lost…
    Looking forward (as always) to your postings!

    • Thank you for the encouragement! I’ve thought a lot about Women’s History Month because of the post I’m writing. Historically, women’s opportunities were so limited that they were never going to have the “big” achievements like commanding a ship or running a government that tend to make it into the history books, yet being part of that first generation of women who put themselves in harm’s way by going to a war zone to nurse was no less courageous or worthy of respect. Women’s History Month is a time to recognize those early trailblazers who opened the doors for future generations of women.

Your thoughts . . .

