How to Accessorize a Sailor

004002
My sailor and I had another day out together.

This time my sailor decided to step things up a notch. He wore his bespoke top coat from Afghanistan. He styled it with a pair of dark Levi’s and a soft chambray shirt. This is a big step up from the Gortex jacket/rugby shirt combination he usually wears when he’s not in uniform.

He looked good…until he grabbed his ratty nylon backpack on the way out the door.

“You can’t bring that if you’re wearing your nice coat,” I said, wondering why it’s often necessary to state the obvious.

Since he likes to have something to carry his bits and pieces, we ended up looking for a stylish man bag for him.

It was mind-blowing to finally share one of my favourite activities–hand bag shopping–with one of my favourite people!

He was initially reluctant, fearing he’d end up with something purse-y looking, but he eventually came around, trying on bags in different stores and discussing features like buckles, handles and cross body straps.

Finally, I took him into one of my special places–the Coach store. (More than he was prepared to spend, but I wanted to broaden his horizons and show him what a quality leather bag looked and felt like.)

I almost lost him when the sales associate suggested a huge striped man tote.

“Uh no. He’s not a tote kind of guy.”

I’m not judging those fine men who proudly carry their big striped totes, but I’m glad my sailor isn’t one of them.

He ended up with a rugged leather Kenneth Cole messenger bag from the Bay that no one will mistake for a purse.

I ended up with memories of a beautiful day with my sailor.

Maybe we can try shoe shopping next week!

4 thoughts on “How to Accessorize a Sailor

  1. Terrific article! This is the type of info that are supposed to
    be shhared across the internet. Disgrace on the search engines for now not positioning this put up upper!
    Come on over and talk over with my site . Thank you =)

Your thoughts . . .

