3 Tips to Dodge Unsolicited Blogging Advice

001
“I put something on the back of the truck,” my sailor said. “It was procured with you in mind.”

Remembering the off-colour bumper sticker he’d displayed on his truck in university, I checked my nails to see if they were long enough to pick off a gummy sticker before going outside to inspect the new addition.

I admit I have been known to ask, “Are we there yet?” (repeatedly) on long and even not so long car trips.

“Cute,” I said, secretly relieved it wasn’t much worse.

He grinned at me. “I saw it at Canadian Tire and immediately thought of you.”

“Yeah, you’re really clever.” Was it too early for wine, I wondered.

“You should take a picture of it and put in your blog.”

What?

“It’s kind of funny how you always ask are we there yet and then I got a trailer hitch cover that says that.” He grinned. “You should put it on your blog.”

He doesn’t even read my blog. (I know this because I’ve never had a reader in Afghanistan and he was there for six months.) But he thinks he can engineer “cute” events for blog posts.

This brings me to the point of today’s post–

Three tips to handle unsolicited blogging advice:

1. Remain noncommittal. Did you notice how I never actually said I’d use his idea? I think I was pretty smooth at deflecting his advice.
2. Smile. Mary Poppins told us all that a spoon full of sugar helps the medicine go down and I’m telling you that a smile helps a negative reaction go down.
3. Accept that most advice is offered from a positive place and respond accordingly. My sailor wasn’t trying to tell me what to do or take over my blog. He was genuinely trying to help me. Whether I agree with his suggestion or not, it’s nice to know he cares enough to get involved.

8 thoughts on “3 Tips to Dodge Unsolicited Blogging Advice

Your thoughts . . .

