3 Ways Blogging Can Change Your Life:

002I’ve been a busy blogger.

In addition to my three posts per week on The Sailor’s Woman, I’ve been writing a monthly guest post on Unhinged and Empowered Navy Wives and Girlfriends since before Christmas. To be honest, it’s a little unnerving because Unhinged Navy Wives has a much bigger audience than The Sailor’s Woman.

However, nerves aside, it’s been a positive experience. Blogger/novelist Stephanie Carroll has been amazingly patient with me, talking me through the process of posting on a different format (Unhinged Navy Wives is on Blogspot) and providing lots of helpful advice on everything from formatting my text to positioning my photos and writing catchy titles for my posts.

My most recent post, “5 Tips for Coping With Family Life & the Navy Homecoming” was featured on Navy Scuttlebut Daily, an online forum which includes popular Navy-themed stories from sources all over the interweb.

Well done, me!

Because I’ve learned that lists are googled more often than other blog titles, I’ll conclude with my personal top three benefits of blogging.

1. If you’re a wannabe writer who is also lazy, blogging is good because it forces you to write regularly. If you’re like me and follow rules religiously, setting yourself a regular posting schedule will ensure you write just to meet your self-imposed deadline.

2. Managing your own blog will force even the most technically inept person to learn SOME basic computer skills. Since starting The Sailor’s Woman at the beginning of the summer, I’ve become fairly comfortable with posting on WordPress. I can schedule posts ahead of time, upload photos and even post in a standard or gallery format. I still can’t insert photos in the middle of a post, but I’m not too bothered about that. I can learn more and get better. The technical sky’s the limit for me!

3. There is an undeniable thrill each time you hit that publish button and send your darling words out into the universe. I won’t say it’s like giving birth because it’s much less messy, but there is a feeling of accomplishment with each post.

14 thoughts on “3 Ways Blogging Can Change Your Life:

    • Absolutely. For me it’s about following rules and meeting scheduled deadlines. That’s how I finally finished my novel–which I can assure you no one has read 🙂 I told myself I had to write for an hour every day before work, no matter what. Blogging has been a great incentive for me to write regularly. Now if I could only get myself back to working on my new novel…

Your thoughts . . .

