Fa La La La La

River City Coffee--my favourite coffee shop in the whole world.  (Especially since I found out they're licensed now!)  I stopped there at about 11:00 on Christmas Eve morning and asked if it was too early for Bailey's in my coffee.  "It's never too early!" was the reply.  It turned out, I needed that fortified coffee to get me through the rest of the day, which included a couple of hours at the Emergency Department waiting for my mother-in-law (infected toe) and sister-in-law (whiplash from a nasty tackle in a recent hockey game.)

River City Coffee–my favourite coffee shop in the whole world. (Especially since I found out they’re licensed now!) I stopped there at about 11:00 on Christmas Eve morning and asked if it was too early for Bailey’s in my coffee. “It’s never too early!” was the reply. It turned out, I needed that fortified coffee to get me through the rest of the day, which included a couple of hours at the Emergency Department waiting for my mother-in-law (infected toe) and sister-in-law (whiplash from a nasty tackle in a recent hockey game.)

Penny was not amused when she realized she couldn't come out for dinner with us!  I felt very guilty leaving her alone on Christmas evening, but I did manage to slip a little left over turkey into my purse so she got a treat after we got back home.

Penny was not amused when she realized she couldn’t come out for dinner with us! I felt very guilty leaving her alone on Christmas evening, but I did manage to slip a little left over turkey into my purse so she got a treat after we got back home.

Arriving at The Old Court House Inn in Powell River.  I think I want to move in there!  Do you think the inn keepers would notice a permanent guest lurking in the hallways?

Arriving at The Old Court House Inn in Powell River. I think I want to move in there! Do you think the inn keepers would notice a permanent guest lurking in the hallways?

I got a bit confused with the time, so we arrived about half an hour too early.  (Scheduling isn't my strong suit.)  We used the time to wander around the inn, which is full of little antique vignettes.

I got a bit confused with the time, so we arrived about half an hour too early. (Scheduling isn’t my strong suit.) We used the time to wander around the inn, which is full of little antique vignettes.

Dinner was served in Edie Rae's Cafe, the inn's charming diningroom.  It's decorated with 1950's pinup photos of the inn keeper's mom.  Edie Rae was there for dinner and we got to meet her.  She's still as striking as she was sixty years ago.

Dinner was served in Edie Rae’s Cafe, the inn’s charming diningroom. It’s decorated with 1950’s pinup photos of the inn keeper’s mom. Edie Rae was there for dinner and we got to meet her. She’s still as striking as she was sixty years ago.

Your thoughts . . .

