The Weakest Link

007011
I’m a few days into my antibiotics and feeling marginally better. I still cough whenever I try to say too much and I’m exhausted. This is so not how I imagined my sailor’s first week back!

As usual my sailor is relentlessly cheerful, certain I’ll be well enough for our upcoming road trip and still thrilled to be home. I’m getting grumpier by the day.

In an effort to be more positive (could this be a potential New Year’s resolution in the works?) I’m doing a countdown of the top five Christmass-y things I’m grateful for.

5. Five special Christmas treats: pfeffernusse, marzipan, golden shortbread (another of my sailor’s special recipes that he makes every year–mmm), chocolate and moose milk. No, it’s not literally milk from the female moose. It’s a dreamy concoction made with softened vanilla ice-cream, milk and the contents of the liquor cabinet, and it’s the best way I can think of to get my daily recommended calcium allotment.

4. Four pairs of boots to pack for a five-day trip! As I get stuff together, I realize that I NEED each of those four pairs. My old beat up riding boots are as warm and comfy as slippers and will be just the ticket if it rains (and it always rains in Powell River in December.) My shiny new boots aren’t quite as comfy, but so much prettier. I can’t go without them. What if it doesn’t rain after all? Then there are my suede kitten heels for Christmas dinner–unless I decide to wear the high stacked heeled pair, instead. Clearly, I need to bring them all.

3. Three doses of Amoxicillin everyday. Sure, it’s a pain to remember if I’ve taken my latest capsule or not, and I’ve had to dump them out on the counter a couple of times to count them because it’s really bad to miss a dose, but I’m truly grateful for access to modern medicine. Even the dog gets regular medical care. Hers isn’t free, like ours is, but nothing’s perfect. (Wow–that was a really positive statement! Well done, me!)

2. Two days until we leave for our family reunion/Christmas visit. I KNOW I’ll be feeling perkier and more energetic by then and it will be wonderful seeing everyone. A delicious turkey dinner, time spent with family and lots of good home baking–what’s not to love? As if that wasn’t enough, I have a date for natchos and wine at Moose and Eddie’s with my old friend, M. I am positive I’ll make it to that pub even if I have to arrive in an ambulance!

1. One super duper sailor who has come safely home to me. There’s not much that could top that!

2 thoughts on “The Weakest Link

Your thoughts . . .

