On the Road Again

009004
We’ve had a string of exceptionally cold weather.

Instead of gloomy rain and tempteratures in the 8 to 10 degree range, we’ve had clear crisp days that are well below zero. (I think our lows have been almost -10!) Some people might not think this is so bad. By some people, I mean the majority of Candians, but this is freezing to us Islanders.

While my hair loves the drier conditions (unsightly frizz, be gone!), the rest of me’s not so sure. I have to plan to leave about ten minutes earlier every morning so I have time to scrape the ice off my car windows. And gloves??? Where the heck did all the winter accessories go?

Then there’s the jogging. In theory I’m still a lean, mean jogger who regularly hits the pavement so hard it’s screaming for mercy. In reality–not so much. I’ve forced myself to go for one short, loping-style jog per week just to keep my sorry self in some kind of shape to bounce back into activity after the spring thaw.

This week is was especially hard to motivate myself. As well as mittens, I had to find a scarf and a toque, an endeavour which took almost as long as the run itself! Then I had to convince myself that I could do this. I can jog in below zero temps. I really can. When we lived the Maritimes, I was a three times/week girl regardless of weather. I regularly ran on slick sidewalks packed with frozen snow in -20 or below. (What was I thinking???)

As no one likes to admit they’ve become softer and wimpier with age, remembering my past exploits was just the ticket to get me out and moving.

I may not have experienced a runner’s high, but I didn’t suffer from my usual plodder’s misery, either, which is worth celebrating.

2 thoughts on “On the Road Again

  1. So better than me. I didnt run this week and only ran once last week 😦 Ugh – I just feel gross but it has been sooo cold out. I have an elliptical so I have been using that – and work out videos but I miss the days when my running was top notch! I think I am getting worse with age! Haha!

    • Don’t be too hard on yourself! It’s difficult to get motivated to go out when it’s cold and miserable! At least you’ve been using your elliptical. We only have an exercise bike and I ride that everyday I don’t jog, but it doesn’t really feel like much of a work out.

Your thoughts . . .

