But What About the Smart Meter?

007
I talk to my sailor twice a week, and we email daily. We’re as connected as possible given the distance between us–certainly far more connected than any previous soldiers and their families in past generations. Even military personnel in the Gulf War in the early 90’s lacked this technology for daily contact.

Recalling some of our conversations and emails, I wonder if earlier soldiers were lucky that way.

Instead of the occasional lovey dovey letter telling him to keep strong and keep his chin up while I keep the home fires burning, my sailor gets everything that’s happening–in painful detail. Going to war is no longer a respite from dealing with daily life.

When I received a three page letter from BC Hydro informing me they are changing over to a wonderful new device called a Smart Meter including a list of all the great things it will do for our family’s energy consumption, followed by the menu of extra fees we’ll incur if we don’t welcome a Smart Meter onto the side of our house, I immediately knew what to do. I sent it to my sailor. The whole thing. I didn’t edit even one word out. Let him read it and decide. After all, I’m a busy person. I don’t have time to deal with BC Hydro. Thanks to the wonders of email, he can even take care of any further correspondence with them and I don’t have to be part of this conversation.

Part of me feels a little guilty for off loading this stuff on him, but then I think about how connected it keeps him to the family, and I realize I’m actually doing him a favour by giving him crap like this to think about. Unlike Roman Centurians or Confederate Cavalry Officers, he won’t need any time to re-adjust to being at home. He can just slide right into taking care of all the utilities/finances because he never really stopped.

4 thoughts on “But What About the Smart Meter?

  1. A lovely posting thanks!. It’s still not the same ever, though, is it? To hand him the Smart Meter letter while he’s dozing on the couch in front of the TV is a lot better (I think). We often forget that the lives of soldier’s wives and husbands (such as yourself) is just as brave…

Your thoughts . . .

