The Grateful Diaries

004

I am grateful for hair stylists.

I spent the better part of today at the salon getting my hair fixed. Anyone who has ever seen my hair in its natural state knows this time frame is not an exaggeration.

A few years ago, I modelled in a charity fashion show at the Wardroom in Halifax. A fellow model (and still a good friend) convinced her hair dresser to donate an evening of her services to the cause we were supporting. Woo hoo! We had a professional stylist on site to prepare us for the cat walk!

When she introduced me to her hair dresser, my friend said, “This is Nanette, the one I told you about. She has difficult hair.”

“I see what you mean,” said the stylist, giving me the once over. “I’ll plan to spend a little extra time on her.”

Fast forward to this afternoon.

I left the salon feeling pretty darn good. My hair was silky, straight and resplendent with subtle caramel coloured highlights. If only my sailor was around to appreciate my new look!

I stopped at the grocery store to pick up a few things. The cashier was a woman I know slightly because I once taught her son. She is a lovely lady and a dedicated and devoted mother.

I said hello.

She peered at me for a moment before answering.

“I didn’t recognize you. Your hair looks nice!”

That’s how I learned I still have difficult hair.

Your thoughts . . .

