Rice Pudding, Part Deux

009011012015
In my never-ending quest to rediscover the yummy baked rice pudding of my childhood, I tried a different recipe.

This one is from ladyredspecs at Please Pass the Recipe. It’s quite simple, apparently transcribed from someone’s grandmother’s 1907 edition of Mrs. Beeton’s.

I followed this recipe to the letter–almost. I seem to have a pathological need to change recipes. Occasionally my alterations result in genius (well, maybe not genius–who am I kidding.) Most of the time, I learn the hard way why not everyone is cut out to write their own recipes. In this case, I used a mixture of canned and fresh milk, added a splash of vanilla extract and, because I still hadn’t bought short grain rice, long grain it was.

Today’s effort is getting closer to my dear old mom’s version. Except for the long grain rice. It looked like plump juicy maggots in the bowl–not the most appealing image. (There’s a reason all the good cooks recommend short grain.)

Although my boy honestly declared it wasn’t quite up to Kosy Shack standards and he carefully picked off each sliver of leathery skin from the top, he did go back for seconds.

If he ate it, I can assume I’m making progress on the rice pudding front.

My goal: perfect rice pudding by the time my sailor returns from Afghanistan. Raised by a Canadian mother, the homemade treats of his childhood include pumpkin pie and Rice Crispies treats, but everyone needs a bit of Wales in their kitchen.

6 thoughts on “Rice Pudding, Part Deux

    • I used a combination of canned milk (I remember my mom using canned) and skim milk. I never even though of clotted cream–you’ve given me an idea for my next trial. I finally understand that using the wrong kind of rice can be a deal breaker. Who knew there is such scope for disaster in something as simple as rice pudding?

    • I tell myself the Wright Brothers surely didn’t attain flight with their first plane and Einstein probably had to write a few equations before he hit the theory he was looking for. Perserverance is key in any endeavor! (By the way–if he hasn’t already done so, tell your brother to write down that chow chow recipe.)

Your thoughts . . .

