Acute Viral Nasopharyngitis

007
Thumping headache–check
Raw sore throat–check
Mucus everywhere–check
Annoying cough–check

I have self-diagnosed acute viral nasopharyngitis AKA the common cold.

I’m miserable, whiney and, in all honesty, no joy to be around. For the first time since his departure, my sailor is likely relieved to be in Afghanistan.

Last night I tossed and turned so much I woke the dog, not just once but several times. Disgusted, she finally heaved herself up with a grunt and sat at the foot of the bed with her back to me.

How did I react? Like a normal, intelligent adult who realizes the dog has a pretty good life if she’s sleeping in my bed in the first place? (I’ve read that many of her canine cousins live outdoors in unfurnished structures called dog houses.)

I apologized. Sick and wretched in the middle of the night, instead of trying to make myself comfortable, I asked the dog for forgiveness. (I don’t even apologize to my sailor this profusely when my coughing wakes him, but then he never turns his back on me to demonstrate his annoyance.)

Did my apology work?

Not exactly. I had to pat the bed invitingly and give her a tummy rub when she deigned to come back to cuddle with me.

I need to add some cough syrup to my over the counter arsenal because I can’t face this disapproval again tonight.

9 thoughts on “Acute Viral Nasopharyngitis

  1. Ah! Tomorrow you’ll be fine. If not, then the next day…. or the next… Oh (I would imagine) at the point of death how we might long for those 3 days of the common cold!!!!! (Sorry – I initially intended to cheer you up).

    • Thank you–you did cheer me up. The death’s door reference was so unexpected, it made me laugh. And you’re right, I will be feeling better in a few days. It’s time to leave my little pity party and buck up. If only it would stop raining for a day or two…

Your thoughts . . .

