Winner, Winner–Chicken Dinner!

020015
A quiet weekend, but that’s about all I have the energy for these days.

Lots of time in the kitchen, but I enjoy cooking when it’s not the weeknight dinner scramble.

We ran out of cookies and my boy requested a new batch, so baking was first on the agenda. This time instead of chocolate chips (which I adore), I used Reese Peanut Butter chips in my go to Martha Stewart recipe. My boy loves anything peanut butter flavoured, but I’m not wild about these chips. Hopefully this means I won’t end up eating all his cookies. In the total absence of self-restraint, I have to bake treats I don’t like too much.

The highlight of my kitchen adventures? A roast chicken with parmesan potatoes and baby carrots for Sunday dinner. Nothing makes the house feel as cosy on a rainy afternoon as the scent of some unfortunate creature roasting slowly in the oven. As usual, the dog parked herself in front of the stove, sniffing and drooling. I think she expects the ill-fated hen to stage a break out. It hasn’t happened yet, and I’ve tripped over the dog more times than I can remember, but I don’t have the heart to shoo her away and destroy her dream of meat that’s as big as she is.

With any luck, I’ve generated enough leftovers that I won’t have to do any major cooking until Wednesday or Thursday. If that happens, I’m the real chicken dinner winner.

9 thoughts on “Winner, Winner–Chicken Dinner!

Your thoughts . . .

