It’s Not You, Honest!

035Dear Professor Scott,

I’m breaking up with you.

It’s not you. It’s me.

I enjoyed your video lectures, particularly the way you add cool special effects to your monologues. Social Psychology is fascinating and you’re an interesting teacher–really. (It’s not you, honest!) The required reading was good, too. Clearly you put a great deal of thought into choosing an appropriate text. Even the assignments were well designed. The one I completed was difficult enough to challenge me without frustrating me because it was too hard.

Sadly I have to break up with you because of me. I can’t devote over two hours a week to watching the video lectures. Add the thirty-five pages of required reading as well as the weekly assignment and exam and I was swimming in Social Psychology without a life jacket.

Maybe we can resume our association when I have more time and fewer responsibilities. Right now I’m singlehandedly responsible for the wellbeing of one busy boy and an emotionally needy Chihuahua. I’m taking care of a house and garden while working fulltime and doing my best not to burn out before my sailor returns to lend a hand or two. Instead of being something fun, Social Psychology was turning into the straw that threatened to break this camel’s back.

Perhaps this isn’t exactly social psychology (is there such a thing as personal psychology?–maybe I should have stuck with you, Professor Scott), but I’ve learned something about myself from this experience. When I have down time, I just want to relax with some fluff reading and some good chocolate and/or wine. Exams, assignments and required reading seem too much like work.

I’ve always been proud of my education. I earned three degrees without ever failing or dropping a course. However, I never worked during term time and I had no responsibilities other than succeeding at school. As an adult with a job and a family attempting to take an online course for interest, I realize how fortunate I was to have had the opportunities my parents provided for me as a young woman. I am in awe of any adult who returns to school in order to make a better life for his or her family.

Professor Scott, please don’t take this rejection personally. It’s not you. It’s me. Really.

Nanette

Your thoughts . . .

