A Woman’s Work is Never Done

013001Almost a week back into the daily grind and I’m shattered. I’m not sure if I’m burned out or just lonely for my sailor, but the transition has been particularly tough this year.

I have a wonderful, amazing job that allows me to make a real difference in the lives of children and their families. I should be the happiest, most fulfilled worker bee around. Maybe I’m just too busy to appreciate it.

Tonight after putting in a full day at work:

I rode my exercise bike because I didn’t have the energy to go for a jog.

I made a healthy, wholesome dinner then cleaned up the kitchen.

I baked cookies for lunch boxes and snacks. Even though I know butter, eggs and sugar aren’t the healthiest things going, these real ingredients have got to be better for us than all the artificial stuff in commercial baked goods. Best of all–my fussy eater loves my homemade cookies.

While the cookies were baking, I did a load of laundry. Am I the only one who notices that if you don’t keep on top of your laundry it goes crazy?

Then I worked on my novel and my blog. (I was ready for bed at this point, but didn’t have the heart to cut out the only part of the my day that’s just for me.)

Next week, Tae Kwon Do starts so we’ll be rushing out of the house three nights a week. Oh–and the homework wars will likely begin. I hate homework!

How do people with busier jobs or more children than me manage? Less than a week into work, and I’m counting the days until my next holiday.

2 thoughts on “A Woman’s Work is Never Done

  1. I am right there with you! I ran 4 miles yesterday morning, then got ready for work – full day of work. Left work early to drop my son off at soccer, then ran to pick my daughter up, back to pick my son up from soccer and catch the last 15 minutes of practice, then got home made dinner for everyone while doing laundry and entertaining my almost 1 year old. Then cleaned up dinner, made cupcakes for her school on Friday for her birthday, packed lunches, worked on her birthday party for Sat – AHHH!!! And tonight is going to be even worse because my son has football after work 30 minutes away and we will not get home and dinner until 8 pm and I skipped my run this morning which means I am going to have to run tonight or run tomorrow which is my rest day! The life of a working mother!

    • Wow! I’m so impressed with everything you packed into your day. You are a supermom! (We should at least get to wear a cape or cool red boots when we achieve supermom status, but alas, we are the unsung heroes of everyday life, quietly keeping things together and the children healthy and happy with little or no recognition.) I’m sending you a virtual pat on the back and trying to remember to give myself one as well.

      It should get easier as our children get older, but I don’t think it does because they get involved in organized activities and then the driving begins.

      I’m hoping to go for a jog this evening–my first since back to school. I hope it doesn’t rain because that just makes it even harder for me to motivate myself to get out there. Nanette

Your thoughts . . .

