Books I Adore

003I’m a quiet, bookish type. Although I admire extroverts (they seem to have such fun!), I have given up hope of ever joining their exuberant ranks. My comfort zone is a quiet corner with a thick novel.

Are book worms born or are they created? Researchers haven’t solved the nature vs nurture puzzle. In my case, I can attest that my mother had a hand in moulding me into a book lover. I don’t remember her ever reading to me, but she promoted me reading to myself from an early age.

She signed me up for my first library card the day I started kindergarten and took me there regularly to exchange books. As I got older she provided a constant stream of novels and it wasn’t unusual for me to come home from school to find a new book or two waiting in my room for me.

Back then my taste ran to historical fiction and childhood classics. Favourites were the Laura Ingalls Wilder series, LM Montgomery, particularly the Anne of Green Gables books and anything by Louisa May Alcott.

Books and reading were such a big part of my life that I requested a new bookshelf for my thirteenth birthhday when other kids my age were asking for clothes and make-up.

Over the years my tastes evolved, but the one constant was my love of reading. No matter what else was happening in my life, I could lose myself in a good book . . . until recently.

I’m having trouble finding books and many that I start fail to interest me. This concerns me. I can’t lose my favourite solitary pastime, especially now.

To rekindle my interest in reading, I’m going to post reviews of books I adore.

I’m open to suggestions of great books.

4 thoughts on “Books I Adore

  1. I am reading The Pilot’s Wife right now – it is a good read. Another favorite of mine is Good in Bed (funny title but cute book) – I haven’t read that one in awhile but I always loved it!

    • Thanks for the suggestions. I read The Pilot’s Wife a few years ago. I was on an Anita Shreve kick and read a number of her novels. She writes beautifully. I’ll re-vist that one for sure. I don’t think I’ve read Good in Bed, but judging by the title, it’s a fun read. I’ll have to check it out. Nanette

Your thoughts . . .

