A Sailor in the Desert

004

The dark side of that debonair uniform and the collection of medals my sailor sports across his chest is a single word: Afghanistan.

Sailors are supposed to serve aboard ships and live in pretty seaside towns. Nowhere in that vision is a journey to a desert on the other side of the world. He assures me that he will be safe, working at a quiet job in an office that is, above all, safe. (He repeats that word like a mantra every time I question him about his upcoming deployment–safe, safe, safe.)

I understand the mission is being scaled back and he won’t be involved in a combat role, but I also recall the list of fallen Canadians that scrolls across the TV screen every Remembrance Day and I worry.

I am outraged when I read stories of women being abused or killed and little girls denied an education because of their gender and I think, someone needs to step up and protect these vulnerable people, but my resolve weakens when it is my husband who will be in danger.

We will have SKYPE and email for private communication and Facebook for more public updates. I’m able to access news reports twenty-four hours a day, learning about the situation there in live time.

I don’t know if that makes it easier or more difficult. Wives left behind when their husbands went to earlier wars didn’t have reports of every battle, every casualty. Did they worry less because the news wasn’t so immediate?

2 thoughts on “A Sailor in the Desert

  1. Sometimes I think it can be harder to always have news reports because you wonder if it is your loved one that is affected. On the other hand, wives back then did not have constant communication with their husbands to know that they were okay on a daily basis. Thanks for stopping by!
    Thenotquitemilitarywife.com

    • I think I have to choose which information I access. The texts I’ve recieved from my sailor have made me feel connected to him and better about this deployment, but I’m nervous about reading news stories about Afghanistan because I don’t want to hear anything scary. Nanette

Your thoughts . . .

