50,000 Words and Counting

017
I wrote a novel.

Besides being a devoted mom, it’s one of the things of which I’m most proud. My novel’s not very good, but it’s mine and after almost a lifetime of abandoning novels three or four chapters in, it’s complete. That’s a huge accomplishment!

I’m working on my second one. Although it’s still a very rough first draft, it’s already better than my ruthlessly edited first book. (In my case, practice may not make perfect, but it does make better.) I enjoy the process and I adore my protagonist. Not only is she a character, she has character.

Aiming for 60,000 words or thereabouts, I’m 50,000 words in. All the strands of the complex plot are coming together for one kick ass conclusion. I know exactly where I want the story to go and my characters are co-operating.

And I’m stuck.

I can’t write.

For a while I beat myself up about it. It hung over my head like an overdue assignment. I couldn’t relax. Whenever I had a spare moment, I chastised myself for not using it to write.

I strive to be kind to others. I’m finally learning to be kind to myself, too. I don’t have the energy to devote to a novel just now. I’m too busy focussing on my other success–mom extraordinaire–and that’s okay.

Unlike my boy, Sister Rita (my protagonist is a spirited nun) will still be there, right where I left her, when I have the time and vigor to devote to her–probably not until my sailor gets home safely.

It’s okay to let some things slide–really it is.

4 thoughts on “50,000 Words and Counting

  1. Softly softly, slowly slowly. If it’s anywhere near as well written as your blog…sign us up! Can so relate to block and guilt, but as you say she not going anywhere and maybe you need this cogitating time for reflection and fruition…whatever, sure you’ll get there­čśä

    • Thank you! It had gotten to the point where it was a chore instead of a joy to open Sister Rita’s file and get to work. Letting it go (for now) without feeling guilt for not writing was a big step, but I feel as if a weight has lifted so it was the right thing to do.

    • Thank you for the encouragement. I’m confident I can finish this novel, but now isn’t the right time for me to be working on it. There’s just too much other stuff going on. It was hard for me to accept that I have to step away from Sister Rita and her gang, but I’m finally there (almost). Like you say, it’s not a race.

Your thoughts . . .

